Rugby originated in England in the first half of the 19th century. In its most common form, Rugby is played between two teams of 15 players using an oval-shaped ball on a rectangular field called a pitch.

The field has H-shaped goalposts at both ends. The origin of rugby football is reputed to be an incident during a game of English school football at a School in Rugby, Warwickshire in 1823, when William Webb Ellis is said to have picked up the ball and run with it.

There are two different types within Rugby Sport. One is Rugby Union and the other is Rugby League.

Rugby Union is played by two teams of 15 players in each while the Rigby League is played by two teams of 13 players in each. World Rugby is the governing body of the Rugby Union and the International Rugby League is the governing body of the Rugby League. Rugby Union: The Rugby World Cup, first held in 1987, is contested every four years.

The Six Nations Championship in Europe and The Rugby Championship in the Southern Hemisphere are other major international competitions that are held annually.

Rugby League: The Super League and the National Rugby League (NRL) are the premier club competitions.